Orange Beach Elementary earns 2019 Alabama Safe Schools Award of Excellence

December 13, 2019
Alabama 2019 Safe Schools announcement

Orange Beach Elementary School has been awarded the 2019 Alabama Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence by the Alabama Attorney General. It’s the sixth time the school has earned Safe Schools recognition. 

Attorney General Steve Marshall announced the winners in a press release on Friday, December 13, 2019. The release is as follows: 

(MONTGOMERY)—Attorney General Steve Marshall today announced winners of the 2019 Safe Schools Initiative Awards. This year, the program was expanded to include three awards for highest excellence in school safety as well as certificates of special recognition for schools building a culture for school safety.  These new categories are in addition to the traditional safe school awards for each public school district and for a private school.  

“The safety of our schoolchildren is a vital matter foremost in all of our minds and hearts, and this year we have enhanced the Safe Schools Initiative Awards to encourage and honor more of those who have implemented strong programs to protect our students, teachers and other staff,” said Attorney General Marshall. “These schools have developed innovative programs and taken practical, effective steps to combat the threat of violence that has become a terrible part of our modern society. Their dedication and resolve to provide a safe haven for learning is an inspiration to us all.”    

On November 26, 2019, a panel of independent judges reviewed submissions from a total of 124 schools from throughout Alabama and selected the following winners.  

For the Attorney General’s 2019 Safe Schools Award of Excellence, one public school with the top overall score was selected from the North, Central and South regions of Alabama. Attorney General Marshall will visit each school to present the award in person. The winners are North Region: Decatur Middle School, Decatur; Central Region: Westlawn Middle School, Tuscaloosa; and South Region: Orange Beach Elementary School, Orange Beach.  

For the Attorney General’s 2019 Safe Schools Award, one public school with the top score was selected for each of the eight state public school districts and one private school statewide. The winners are District 1: Pleasant Home School, Andalusia; District 2: Loachapoka High School, Loachapoka; District 3: Shades Mountain Elementary School, Hoover; District 4: Northridge Middle School, Tuscaloosa; District 5; Prattville Junior High School, Prattville; District 6: Austin High School, Decatur; District 7: Forest Hills Elementary, Florence; District 8: Discovery Middle School, Madison; and private school: Lee-Scott Academy, Auburn.  Attorney General Marshall will visit these schools to present the awards in person.      

The following schools will receive the Attorney General’s 2019 Certificate of Building a Culture for School Safety:    

District 1: 

  • Foley Intermediate School, Foley 
  • Peter F. Alba Middle School, Bayou La Batre 
  • W.J. Carroll Intermediate School, Daphne 

District 2:

  • Creekside Elementary School, Auburn
  • Opelika High School, Opelika 
  • Opelika Middle School, Opelika 
  • Wrights Mill Road Elementary School, Auburn

District 3: 

  • Chelsea Middle School, Chelsea 
  • Chilton County High School, Clanton
  • Clanton Elementary School, Clanton
  • Clanton Intermediate School, Clanton
  • Clanton Middle School, Clanton 
  • Creek View Elementary School, Alabaster
  • Jemison Elementary School, Jemison
  • Jemison High School, Jemison 
  • Jemison Intermediate School, Jemison
  • Jemison Middle School, Jemison 
  • Mt. Laurel Elementary School, Birmingham
  • Oak Mountain Middle School, Birmingham
  • Pelham Oaks Elementary School, Pelham
  • Pinecrest Elementary School, Sylacauga 
  • R.F. Bumpus Middle School, Hoover
  • Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga
  • Thompson High School, Alabaster
  • Thompson Intermediate School, Alabaster
  • Trace Crossings Elementary School, Hoover
  • Verbena High School, Verbena 

District 4: 

  • Central High School, Tuscaloosa 
  • The Alberta School of Performing Arts, Tuscaloosa
  • Woodland Forrest Elementary School, Tuscaloosa 

District 6: 

  • Austin Junior High School, Decatur 
  • Austin Middle School, Decatur 
  • Banks-Caddell Elementary School, Decatur
  • Benjamin Davis Elementary School, Decatur
  • Chestnut Grove Elementary School, Decatur
  • Cullman High School, Cullman 
  • Decatur High School, Decatur 
  • Fairview Middle School, Cullman 
  • Frances Nungester Elementary School, Decatur
  • Hayden High School, Hayden 
  • Moody Middle School, Moody 
  • West Point High School, Cullman 

District 7: 

  • Cherokee Elementary School, Cherokee Cherokee High School, Cherokee 
  • Colbert County High School, Leighton Colbert Heights Elementary School, Tuscumbia Deshler High School, Tuscumbia 
  • Russellville Elementary School, Russellville 

District 8: 

  • Chaffee Elementary School, Huntsville 
  • Challenger Elementary School, Huntsville 
  • Chapman Elementary School, Huntsville 
  • Chapman Middle School, Huntsville 
  • Columbia High School, Huntsville 
  • Farley Elementary School, Huntsville 
  • Goldsmith Schiffman Elementary School, Owens Cross Roads
  • Hampton Cove Middle School, Owens Cross Roads
  • Highlands Elementary School, Huntsville 
  • Huntsville Junior High School, Huntsville 
  • Rainbow Elementary School, Madison 


  • Coosa Valley Academy, Harpersville 
  • UMS-Wright Preparatory School, Mobile